There is no statewide price for a Nevada concealed firearm permit, and there is no state office you can call to get one. Nevada builds the permit fee...
Reviewed by Will Luker, Founder of CCW Hub. USCCA Training Counselor, USCCA Certified Instructor, NRA Certified Instructor, Law Enforcement.
There is no statewide price for a Nevada concealed firearm permit, and there is no state office you can call to get one. Nevada builds the permit fee out of three pieces: a charge the sheriff sets within a statutory ceiling, a pass-through charge that the sheriff collects but does not control, and a set of fixed amounts written into the statute itself. You apply to a county sheriff under NRS 202.3657(1), that sheriff sets the part of the price the Legislature left open, and that sheriff's office collects the money. Two counties can therefore charge two different totals for the same permit, both lawfully.
That structure is the single most useful thing to understand before you start comparing numbers you find online. Below, the statutory framework comes first because it is stable, then one county's published schedule as a worked example. Every dollar figure here carries the source it came from and the date attached to that source. For a permit fee, the date is not a footnote. It is part of the number.
The initial application fee lives in NRS 202.3657(7), the subsection listing what an application must include. Two of its eight paragraphs are money.
Paragraph (g) requires "a nonrefundable fee equal to the nonvolunteer rate charged by the Central Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal History and the Federal Bureau of Investigation to obtain the reports required pursuant to subsection 1 of NRS 202.366." Paragraph (h) requires "a nonrefundable fee set by the sheriff not to exceed $60." (NRS 202.3657(7)(g) and (h), leg.state.nv.us NRS Chapter 202, retrieved August 13, 2026; the section was last amended in 2021.)
Read those two together and the architecture is clear. The $60 in paragraph (h) is a ceiling, not a price. A sheriff may charge $60, or less, and nothing in NRS 202.3653 to 202.369 obliges any sheriff to charge the maximum. That is the only cap the statute places on an initial permit. Paragraph (g) has no cap at all, because it is not really a fee the county sets. It is a pass-through of what the Central Repository and the FBI charge for the criminal history reports.
NRS 202.366(1) tells you what paragraph (g) is buying. On receiving an application, including a renewal application, the sheriff "shall conduct an investigation of the applicant to determine if the applicant is eligible for a permit," and in doing so "shall forward a complete set of the applicant's fingerprints to the Central Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal History for submission to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for its report concerning the criminal history of the applicant." The investigation "also must include a report from the National Instant Criminal Background Check System."
So the fingerprint and background check charge is not a county markup. It is the cost of two outside agencies running you, collected by the sheriff at the counter and forwarded on.
Notice the word "nonvolunteer" in paragraph (g). The term implies the Central Repository maintains more than one rate, and the statute pegs your fee to the one that is not the volunteer rate. This is the component most likely to be wrong on any page you read, including this one. NRS Chapter 202 does not set this rate, so the amount is nowhere in the permit statute and has to be confirmed with the sheriff's office that will take your application. If a Nevada permit price rises between two published fee schedules while the sheriff's own charge stays put, this is the piece that moved.
Renewal is priced separately and lower. Under NRS 202.3677(2), a renewal application must "be accompanied by a nonrefundable fee equal to the nonvolunteer rate charged by the Central Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal History and the Federal Bureau of Investigation to obtain the reports required pursuant to subsection 1 of NRS 202.366," paragraph (c), and must "be accompanied by a nonrefundable fee of $25," paragraph (d). (NRS 202.3677(2), leg.state.nv.us NRS Chapter 202, retrieved August 13, 2026; the section was last amended in 2013.)
Compare that $25 to the $60 in NRS 202.3657(7)(h) and note the difference in kind, not just in amount. The initial figure is a ceiling the sheriff may charge up to. The renewal figure is a flat statutory amount. The background check pass-through, however, applies to renewals exactly as it does to first applications, because NRS 202.3677(1)(b) sends every renewal applicant back through the same NRS 202.366 investigation. Renewing does not spare you the fingerprint and records cost.
Miss your expiration date and the statute adds one more line. If a permittee "fails to renew his or her permit on or before the date of expiration of the permit, the application for renewal must include an additional nonrefundable late fee of $15." (NRS 202.3677(2), same retrieval.) That is a statutory amount, not a county option.
NRS 202.367 covers the small transactions, and it prices one of them directly. A permittee must notify the issuing sheriff in writing within 30 days if the permittee's permanent address changes, or if the permit is lost, stolen, or destroyed. The sheriff issues a duplicate permit if the permittee submits a signed statement under oath that the permit was lost, stolen, or destroyed, and "pays a nonrefundable fee of $15." (NRS 202.367(2)(b), leg.state.nv.us NRS Chapter 202, retrieved August 13, 2026; this section has not been amended since it was added in 1995.)
One figure in NRS 202.367 is not a fee at all, and it is worth separating. A permittee who fails to give the required notice "is subject to a civil penalty of $25" under NRS 202.367(4). The same subsection reaches the permittee who finds a lost permit after a duplicate has been issued and does not notify the sheriff in writing and return the duplicate within 10 days. That $25 is a penalty for not telling the sheriff something, not a price for a service.
That is also not the only $25 civil penalty in the permit statutes, and the other one is easy to confuse with it. NRS 202.3667(1) requires each permittee to carry the permit, or a duplicate issued under NRS 202.367, together with proper identification whenever the permittee is in actual possession of a concealed firearm, and to present both if a peace officer requests them. NRS 202.3667(2) then provides that "a permittee who violates the provisions of this section is subject to a civil penalty of $25 for each violation." (NRS 202.3667, leg.state.nv.us NRS Chapter 202, retrieved August 13, 2026.) So NRS 202.367(4) reaches a permittee who fails to notify the sheriff, and NRS 202.3667(2) reaches a permittee carrying without the permit and proper identification. The two citations differ by a single digit and both carry $25, which is exactly why they get transposed.
Every fee described above carries the word "nonrefundable" in the statute. Not one of them is contingent on the sheriff approving your application. You pay the application and renewal fees when you file, the sheriff has up to 120 days under NRS 202.366(3) to grant or deny, and a denial does not return your money. The $15 duplicate fee under NRS 202.367(2)(b) is nonrefundable on the same terms, but it attaches to the duplicate request rather than to an application. Washoe County's applicant packet states the same rule in its own words at the top of its fee section: "ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE." (Washoe County Sheriff's Office, CCW Information Packet, retrieved August 13, 2026.)
There is one place the statute expressly forbids a charge. Under NRS 202.3657(6), if the sheriff suspends a permit because a permittee has been charged with a qualifying crime and the permittee is later acquitted, or the charges are dropped, the sheriff "shall restore his or her permit without imposing a fee."
NRS 202.368 explains why fees vary by county better than any comparison chart. All fees collected under NRS 202.3653 to 202.369 "must be deposited with the county treasurer of the county in which the fees are collected." From there, if the county has a metropolitan police department created under NRS Chapter 280, the money is credited to that department's general fund. If it does not, the money is credited to the county general fund.
Permit fees are county revenue funding county operations. The Legislature capped the sheriff's own charge at $60 for an initial permit and fixed $25 for a renewal, then left the rest of the decision where the cost sits. Expect variation, and do not treat one county's number as the state's number.
One practical consequence: a non-resident may apply to the sheriff of any county in Nevada under NRS 202.3657(1), while a resident applies to the sheriff of the county where he or she resides. For non-residents, the choice of county is also a choice of price and of processing office.
Washoe County publishes a service charge schedule, and the sheriff's own CCW packet defers to it rather than printing amounts, telling applicants to "check the Service Charge Schedule on the Washoe County Sheriff's Office website for current fees" for both initial and renewal applications. That makes the schedule the county's own controlling statement of price. It is one county's statement of price, not Nevada's. If you will apply in a different county, get the current amounts from the sheriff of that county rather than reading Washoe's totals across.
The schedule carries a printed effective date of November 26, 2019, and the figures below were read from it on August 13, 2026, more than six years later. Read them with that effective date attached, and confirm the current amount of any line with the Washoe County Sheriff's Office before you budget from it.
Washoe County Sheriff's Office fee schedule, effective November 26, 2019, retrieved August 13, 2026:
Now do the arithmetic against the statute, because it shows how the pieces fit. Subtract the schedule's $39.00 state fingerprinting component from its $99.00 original application total and $60.00 remains, exactly the ceiling in NRS 202.3657(7)(h). Subtract the same $39.00 from the $64.00 renewal total and $25.00 remains, exactly the figure in NRS 202.3677(2)(d). As of the date printed on that schedule, those totals are consistent with Washoe County charging the statutory maximum for an initial permit and the statutory flat amount for a renewal.
Be careful about what the $39.00 line actually says. The schedule calls it a "fingerprinting State fee," and it charges the same $39.00 well outside the permit context: work permit applications, business licenses, and peddler and solicitor permits are each listed at $74.00 on that same schedule, effective November 26, 2019 and retrieved August 13, 2026, with that same $39.00 included. The schedule does not state that the $39.00 is the NRS 202.3657(7)(g) and NRS 202.3677(2)(c) Central Repository and FBI pass-through, and the two are not described in the same terms. The statutory fee is keyed to the nonvolunteer rate charged by the Central Repository and the Federal Bureau of Investigation, a state and a federal component, while the schedule names a State fee only. So the subtraction above is arithmetic that lines up with the statutory figures, not the county telling you what the $39.00 is.
That still tells you which number to distrust first. The $60.00 and $25.00 components are anchored in statute and cannot rise without the Legislature, while the schedule presents the $39.00 as a State fee rather than as a charge Washoe County sets for itself. If any part of that six-year-old schedule has moved, ask the Sheriff's Office which line moved, because the totals move with it.
The county packet adds a deadline the statute does not state. Washoe warns that if you fail to renew within 120 days of expiration, "you will have to re-apply as a new applicant," which puts you back at the initial application price rather than the renewal price plus a late fee. NRS 202.3677 sets the $15 late fee for renewing after expiration but does not itself state a 120-day cutoff, so treat that cutoff as Washoe's rule and confirm it with your own sheriff.
On payment, the packet says fees are accepted as cash, personal check, money order or cashier's check, and credit or debit card, and that the application fee includes fingerprint processing. The fee schedule adds that credit card fees apply and that personal checks must be payable to the Washoe County Sheriff's Office.
NRS 202.3678 prices certification for a qualified retired law enforcement officer under 18 U.S.C. 926C(d) differently from a permit, and it sets no dollar figure at all. Under subsection 2, the law enforcement agency providing the required firearms qualification "may impose a nonrefundable fee in the amount necessary to pay the expenses for providing the firearms qualification." Under subsection 3, the sheriff "may impose a nonrefundable fee in the amount necessary to pay the expenses in providing the certification."
Both are permissive and both are cost-recovery, capped only by actual expense. Washoe County's schedule, effective November 26, 2019 and retrieved August 13, 2026, lists no charge for LEOSA new applications or renewals, which is what "may impose" allows.
The training requirement is a real cost and it is not on any sheriff's fee schedule. NRS 202.3657(3)(c) requires an applicant to demonstrate competence with handguns by presenting documentation of a firearm safety course approved by a Nevada sheriff, or one offered by a federal, state, or local law enforcement agency, community college, university, or national organization that certifies firearm safety instructors. NRS 202.3677(3) requires the same demonstration again at renewal, through "a course prescribed by the sheriff renewing the permit."
The statute sets no price for either course, and no cap. You pay an instructor or an institution directly, in a market the sheriff does not regulate as to price. Any total you see quoted for "a Nevada CCW" that includes training is combining a government fee with a private one, and only the government half is anchored in the numbers above.
Ask your issuing sheriff's office for its current schedule, and price the four components separately:
Because the permit expires 5 years after the date it is issued under NRS 202.366(4), the initial total buys 5 years, and the renewal cycle repeats items 1 through 4 at the lower statutory figure. Confirm items 1 and 2 with the office that will actually take your money, and note the date on whatever schedule it hands you.
This page covers one part of our Nevada concealed carry guide.
Read the complete Nevada guideBrowse local instructors offering state-approved training in your area. Book online, complete your training, and get one step closer to your concealed carry permit.